Sportshall Fun in Athletics South-East Regional Final - 10 February 2018

Hampshire's Under 11 Sportshall teamHampshire's Under 11 Sportshall team

The Hampshire Sportshall Under 11 boys and girls teams took part in the South East Regional Championships at the Surrey Sports Park in Guildford. Both teams finished a credible 5th position out of the 8 County Teams participating. Young athletes from Southampton, Portsmouth, Winchester, New Forest, Andover, Aldershot and Havant clubs made up the Hampshire teams.

On the track the highlight was a superb win in 1+1 Lap girls relay by the rapid pairing of Fola Odofin and Ella Hutton (both Portsmouth AC). Fola also doubled up with Ellie McDonald (Andover) to be victorious in the Chest Push with Fola sealing a great day for her by having the longest throw of the day of 7.75m. The trio of Fola, Rebekah Smith (New Forest) and Ella Hutton were a fine 2nd place in the standing Long Jump with Fola having 4th best jump of 2.08m. Annabella Marsh and Grace Weeks (both Winchester) threw the Soft Javelin to manage equal 3rd team place.

In the boys event the super bouncing trio of Jon Pepin, Ben Conti and Robbie Caulton (all New Forest) won the Speed Bounce with a fine total of 169. There were 3rd team places in the Chest Push for William Bryant (Aldershot) and Oscar Webb (Winchester) and also in the Soft Javelin with Eben Skinner (Portsmouth) and Vidal Pinto (Aldershot.

Both teams worked very hard and gave everything whilst still having a smile on their faces.

Steve Torrance
Hampshire Sportshall Team Manager

Under 11 Girls' results
Under 11 Boys' results

The athletes taking part were:


Grace Weeks (Winchester & District)
Fola Odofin (City of Portsmouth)
Ella Hutton (City of Portsmouth)
Freya Evans (City of Portsmouth)
Rebekah Smith (New Forest Junior)
Elodie Marsh (New Forest Junior)
Ellie Macdonald (Andover)
Carys Jeffries (Southampton)
Abi Belward (Southampton)
Annabella Marsh (Winchester & District)
Rosa May Sprake (City of Portsmouth)
Betti Smith (Havant)


Oscar Webb (Winchester & District)
William Bryant (Aldershot, Farnham & District)
Vidal Pinto (Aldershot, Farnham & District)
Nathaniel Pattison (Aldershot, Farnham & District)
Eben Skinner (City of Portsmouth)
Jon Pepin (New Forest Junior)
Ben Primrose (Havant)
Joshua Cooke (Havant)
Archie Ellis (Aldershot, Farnham & District)
Robbie Caulton (New Forest Junior)
Noah Tucker (New Forest Junior)
Stan Parkinson (Winchester & District)
Ben Conti (New Forest Junior)